ECI Announces By Election In Three Constituencies In West Bengal, By Poll On September 30th 

The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced a by election in Bhawanipore Assembly constituency.

The announcement came as a boon for the Mamata Banerjee Government, especially Ms. Banerjee who lost in the Nandigram Assembly constituency.

According to the ECI, the Bhawanipore  by election is scheduled on the 30th of September.  

Besides Bhawanipore, Samsergunj and Jangipur in Murshidabad district would also conduct Assembly constituencies by election.

Despite winning the Bhawanipore Assembly constituency, Mr. Sovondeb Chattopadhyay resigned from the Member of the Legislative Assembly post. The decision to resign the post was in order to make room for the Chief Minister Ms. Mamata Banerjee.

It is to be noted, if the current CM Ms. Mamata Banerjee fails to win the MLA seat, under Article 164(4) of the Constitution of India, a minister who is not a member of the Legislature of the State for a period of six consecutive months cannot be the chief minister.

In order to hold the position, the Assembly constituency by poll is much needed for the Trinamool Congress (TMC) in West Bengal.

While the Assembly by election in the aforementioned regions would be held on the 31st of September, the results would be announced on the 3rd of October. 

Mango News Link


Google Play Store:

Apple / iOS Store:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here