Telangana Conducts Vidhan Sabha Elections

Telangana Conducts Vidhan Sabha Elections, Telangana Legislative Assembly election 2018, Telangana set for Assembly polls Today, Voting in the Telangana election, Mango News, Voting Begins for 119 seats, Telangana Election Day, #TelanganaElections2018, #BattleForTheStates

Telangana is conducting its Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) elections, today, from 7:00 A.M., to 5:00 P.M. Out of the 119 constituencies, 13 constituencies will conduct the elections till 4:00 P.M., today.

A total of 1,821 candidates are contesting the Telangana Assembly elections. The major parties contesting the elections are the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS,) the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP,) the All India Majlis e Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and the grand alliance of the Congress, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP,) the Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and the Communist Party of India (CPI.)

All the parties and the independent candidates will contest for 119 Assembly seats, out of which 19 are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) and 12 for Scheduled Tribes (ST.)

According to sources, the registered list of voters has a total of 2,80,74,718 voters, which includes 1,41,66,144 males, 1,39,05,689 females and 2,885 individuals belonging to the third gender. A total of 32,796 polling stations are set up across the State.

Tight security will be maintained throughout the polling to conduct the elections smoothly and peacefully.

In some of the constituencies, the voters are facing issues due to the malfunctioning of the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs.) P.V. Sindhu came back without casting her vote due to the malfunctioning of the EVM. However, she said, she would come back to vote after her practice session. Jwala Gutta,  belonging to the Banjara Hills constituency, did not find her name in the list.

Another issue faced by the people is the lack of voter slips. Approximately 2000 voters did not receive their voter slips in the Malkajgiri constituency.

Although the voters are facing various troubles, Telangana witnessed a voter turnout of 23 % till 11 A.M.

Actors and ministers such as Chiranjeevi, Allu Arjun and Asaduddin Owaisi also stood in queues to cast their votes.

All the parties are on their toes and are urging the public to vote for them. Leaders such as Prime Minister Narendra Modi (BJP,) Rahul Gandhi (Congress,) K. Chandrashekar Rao (TRS) and Chandrababu Naidu (TDP) took to Twitter and appealed to the citizens of Telangana to vote for their respective parties.

The results of the Telangana Assembly elections will be announced on the 11th of December.

The article was updated with the following information:

The voters are still facing problems with the EVMs and many voters are struggling to receive their voter slips. The voters are not able to find their details online through the website of the Telangana Electoral Officer, as they are being redirected to a blank web page. The Election Commission also launched an app for the voters to locate their polling booths, but they voters complained of the app not working properly.

A total of 48 % voter turnout was recorded across Telangana, till 1:00 P.M. In Hyderabad, 28 % voters turned up to cast their votes, till 1:00 P.M.

Some of the voters of the Velungapalli constituency are waiting outside the polling stations as the polling officials closed the booths, to go for lunch.

The article was updated with the following information:

In Hyderabad, 35.31 % voter turnout was recorded, while a total of 56.17 % voters turned up across Telangana, till 3:00 P.M.

The article was updated with the following information:

As of 4 P.M., the voter turnout in Telangana crossed 67 %.

Stay tuned for more updates about the Telangana Assembly elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here