INC Says, ‘No Triple Talaq If We Win The Elections’

INC Says No Triple Talaq If We Win The Elections, Triple Talaq Bill in Lok Sabha, Triple Talaq Bill Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha Elections, Mango News, Muslim Women protection, No triple talaq bill,Congress scrap triple talaq law, Congress Manifesto, Lok Sabha Polls

Sushmita Dev, the Congress Mahila President, on the 7th of February, said, the Indian National Congress (INC) will abolish the Triple Talaq Bill, if the Party wins the Lok Sabha elections.

Ms. Dev addressed the All India Congress Committee (AICC) Minorities Convention and said, “I promise that the Congress party will come to power in 2019 and will scrap the Triple Talaq law. The law is just another weapon of the Modi Government to arrest and harass Muslim men and put them in prison.”

Ms. Dev claimed, the Bill is a strategy of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to put Muslim men behind the bars, instead of empowering the women.

The Triple Talaq Bill, known as The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, was passed in the Lok Sabha, on the 27th of December 2018. However, the Rajya Sabha rejected the Bill and asked for it to be sent to a Select Committee for reconsideration.

The INC opposed the bill and walked out of the Lok Sabha discussions, on the grounds of the Bill being harmful for the Muslim women, in terms of them becoming financially dependent.

Randeep Surjewala, the spokesperson of the INC, supported Ms. Dev and said, “Congress’s position has been clear that this bill cannot be used as a tool to deprive a woman and her family of maintenance. Modiji has not responded to these concern raised by the Congress, and it is for this reason that we opposed the bill.”

Sambit Patra, the spokesperson of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP,) stated, this move by the INC is simply to gain the votes of the Muslim community. He said, “Rahul Gandhi says that if Congress comes to power, it will scrap triple talaq law. It is nothing but appeasement politics.”

The two major parties contesting the upcoming Lok Sabha elections are the INC and the BJP. The Lok Sabha elections are scheduled between April and May 2019.

Stay tuned for further updates about the Lok Sabha elections.