Monsoon Parliament Sessions 2020, Members Likely To Discuss GST Compensation And Bills

Monsoon Parliament Sessions 2020, Members Likely To Discuss GST Compensation And Bills

On the 21st of September, the Monsoon session of the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha are likely to discuss several bills and Goods and Service Tax (GST.)

On the 20th of September, the Rajya Sabha passed two farmers’ bills, despite protests and opposition from opposite parties and farmers of Haryana and Punjab.

In regard to this, a 70 year old farmer of Punjab consumed poison and committed suicide.

In today’s session, the Parliament is set to discuss the opposition sponsored debate on “the situation arising out of non-payment of GST compensation to States.”

In addition, the legislation would also discuss the bill which were passed in the ongoing session.

Some of the amended bills which would be discussed are: the Indian Institutes of Information Technology Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020, amendments to the Essential Commodities Act, 1955 and the Company Act.

Meanwhile, the Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Amendment Bill is set for passing in the Lok Sabha today.

Besides, Foreigh Contribution (Regulation) Amendment Bill, the Lower House would also likely to table Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Second Amendment) Bill, 2020 and the Epidemic Diseases (Amendment) Bill.

Speaking about yesterday’s violence during the ongoing session in the Parliament, an official said the Central Government is likely to seek action against some Opposition Members of Parliament (MPs) who were aggressively involved in the ruckus on Sunday.

According to sources, senior leaders of opposition parties allegedly uprooted microphones, jumped up on tables, flouted rules to shoot videos of the ruckus and shouted slogans.

The protests were also conducted in an aggressive way, which continued even after the House was adjourned at 1:00 P.M.

In regard to this, the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha Mr. Harivansh suspended as many as 9 MPs.

The suspended MPs are: Derek O’ Brien, Sanjay Singh, Dola Sen, Rajeev Satav, K.K. Ragesh, Syed Nasir Hussain, Ripun Bora and Elamaram Kareem.

Stay tuned for further updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here