ICC World Twenty20 2016 Venues announced

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the venues that will host the Men and Women ICC World Twenty20-2016. The World Twenty20 will be hosted by India from the 11th of March to the 3rd of April 2016.

Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi will be the venues along with Kolkata, which will also host the final of the event.

ICC World Twenty20 2016 Venues announced
ICC World Twenty20 2016 Venues announced

These venues will host the matches subject to fulfilling the prescribed requirements of the ICC and BCCI while adhering to the statutory obligations that are mandatory for hosting an International match.

Speaking on the announcement of the venues, Honorary Secretary of the BCCI, Mr. Anurag Thakur said, “BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious event. All the venues identified have hosted many prestigious matches. With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest. We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans. I am confident that all the venues nominated will deliver a world class event.”

The BCCI has constituted a Managing Committee for the ICC World Twenty20 comprising of the following members:

President of BCCI, Mr. Jagmohan Dalmiya would be the chairman of this committee along with the following members;

  • Mr. Anurag Thakur, convenor and Hon. Secretary, BCCI.
  • Mr. Amitabh Choudhary, Hon. Joint Secretary, BCCI.
  • Mr. Anirudh Chaudhry, Hon. Treasurer, BCCI.
  • Mr. G. Ganga Raju, Vice President, BCCI.
  • Mr. Rajeev Shukla, Chairman, IPL.
  • Mr. Ashish Shelar, Vice President, Mumbai Cricket Association.
  • Mr. Ashirbad Behera, Hon. Secretary, Orissa Cricket Association.