Mizoram Elections – MNF Comes To Power

Mizoram Elections – MNF Comes To Power, Mizoram Election Results, Mizoram assembly polls, Mizoram poll result, MNF comes to power in Mizoram with 21 seats, Mango News, Mizo National Front came to power after 10 years, MNF in Mizoram, Mizoram Election results 2018

Mizoram conducted its Assembly elections on the 28th of November and the results for the same were announced, on the 11th of December (Tuesday.) The Mizo National Front (MNF) came to power after 10 years and secured a majority of seats.

The MNF stood out with a majority of 26 seats out of a total of 40. The MNF secured 5 seats more than the required majority of 21.

The other major parties which contested the elections were the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP.) In 2014, the Congress party was in power and ruled in Mizoram.

Lal Thanhawla, the incumbent Chief Minister of Mizoram and a Congress member, represented 2 constituencies, Champhai South and Serchhip. He lost in both the constituencies against the MNF and the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM.) Mr. Thanhawla submitted his resignation letter to Governor Kummanam Rajasekhar, on Tuesday evening.

Zoramthanga, the MNF President, is likely to be elected as the Chief Minister of Mizoram. Zoramthanga was an ally of the BJP, but individually contested the Mizoram Assembly elections, 2018.

Speaking about the coalition, Zoramthanga said, “We have got 26 seats out of 40. We are a part of NEDA (North-East Democratic Alliance) and NDA but we wouldn’t like to join either BJP or Congress.”

Zoramthanga also highlighted some of the agendas of the party after coming to power. He said, the party will focus on liquor ban, repairing roads and implementing the Social Economic Development Programme (SEDP.)

In the Mizoram elections, the Congress party secured 5 seats, the BJP secured 1 seat and independent candidates won 8 seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here